Coronavirus Information for Higher Ed from the AAUP


Welcome to the website for the Connecticut State Conference of the American Association of University Professors.

History of the CSC-AAUP

The Connecticut State Conference AAUP was formed in early 1985, and consists of collective bargaining chapters (UConn-AAUP and CSU-AAUP) and advocacy chapters (Teikyo Post, University of Hartford and Fairfield University) as well as individual members at other Connecticut colleges and the Connecticut Emeritus Assembly.

State Conference responsibilities involve membership organizing, Committee A (Academic Freedom and Tenure) work through the Robert Bard Legal Defense Fund, and assistance with shared governance documents in addition to providing resources for individual members without local support. The conference supports attendance at National AAUP meetings and conferences. It also produces a newsletter entitled Vanguard, which is sent to every AAUP member in the state and includes news and reports from as many segments of the academic community as possible.

Statement of Purpose

If you have any questions, please contact Connecticut State Conference Executive Director Flo Hatcher at keith.hatcher@gmail.com, hatcherk1@southernct.edu.

Here is our current leadership:

AAUP State Conference Officers 2015-2018

Officers & Executive Committee

AAUP State Conference Officers 2015-2018

President — Uchenna T. Nwachuku, Southern Connecticut State University
Immediate Past President – Ira Braus, Music, University of Hartford
Vice President – David Stoloff, Education, Eastern Connecticut State University
Secretary – Susan Reinhart, Art, Gateway Community College
Treasurer – Irene Mulvey, Mathematics, Fairfield University
Executive Director – Flo Hatcher, Art, formerly part-time, Southern Connecticut State University

Executive Committee 2015-2017

Ruth Anne Baumgartner, English, Central Connecticut State University
Albert Buatti, Information Systems, Middlesex Community College
Andrew Fish, Jr., Electrical & Computer Engineering, University of New Haven
Jane Hikel, English, Central Connecticut State University

Advisory Council 2015-2017

Joan Chrisler – (Past President) Connecticut College Liaison, Psychology, Connecticut College
Vijay Nair – (Past President) CSU-AAUP Liaison, Library Services, Western Connecticut State University
Charles Ross – (Past President) CSC-AAUP Committee A Co-Chair, English, University of Hartford
Morton Tenzer – CT Emeritus Assembly Liaison, CSC-AAUP Committee on Government Relations Chair, Emeritus Faculty Political Science, University of Connecticut
David Amdur – University of Connecticut-AAUP Liaison
Michael Bailey – Executive Director  University of Connecticut-AAUP Liaison
Diomedes Tsitouras – Executive Director UCHC-AAUP Liaison

Posted on  by admin | Leave a comment

Good company in a journey makes the way seem shorter. — Izaak Walton


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s