Connecticut State Conference Council

Connecticut State Conference-AAUP, Inc.

Welcome to the new CSC-AAUP website url:

Welcome to the website for the Connecticut State Conference of the American Association of University Professors. The Connecticut State Conference AAUP was formed in early 1985, and consists of collective bargaining chapters (the four CSU-AAUP chapters: Central Connecticut State University, Eastern Connecticut State University, Southern Connecticut State University, and Western Connecticut State University; the University of Connecticut-AAUP and the University of Connecticut Health Center-AAUP) and advocacy chapters (Connecticut College, Fairfield University, Trinity College, and University of Hartford) as well as individual members at other Connecticut colleges and universities and the Connecticut Emeritus Assembly.

State Conference responsibilities involve membership organizing, Committee A (Academic Freedom and Tenure) work through the Robert Bard Legal Defense Fund, and assistance with shared governance documents in addition to providing resources for individual members without local support. The conference supports attendance at National AAUP meetings, CBC-AAUP Summer Institutes, Coalition of Contingent Academic Labor (COCAL) Conferences, and other academic conferences. It also produces a newsletter entitled Vanguard, which is sent to every Connecticut AAUP member and includes news and reports from as many segments of the academic community as possible.

Connecticut State Conference-AAUP Executive Committee

CSC-AAUP Officers (2-year terms June 1, 2022-2024)

CSC-AAUP Website:

Conference email –

Connecticut State Conference-AAUP, Inc.  Executive Committee Members 2002-2004

President-David Stoloff–, Professor, Education, Eastern Connecticut State University, 

Vice President—Afshan Jafar–, Professor and Chair, Sociology and Acting Chair of the Gender, Sexuality, and Intersectionality Studies Department, and Bodies/Embodiment Pathway Coordinator,Connecticut College

Secretary—Susan Reinhart–, Adjunct Professor, Fine Art, Gateway Community College

Treasurer—Michele Ganon —, Professor and Chair Accounting, Western Connecticut State University 

Immediate Past President—Uchenna Nwachuku–,, Professor, Counseling and School Psychology, Southern Connecticut State University

Member-At-Large-Ruth Anne Baumgartner–, Vanguard Editorial Committee-Chair, MailChimp-Manager, Adjunct Faculty, English, Fairfield University and Central Connecticut State University -former

Member-At-Large-Mary Gallucci–,, Adjunct Professor, Italian Culture, University of Connecticut, and World Languages and Cultures, Eastern Connecticut State University

Member-At-Large-Jane Hikel–, Liaison Connecticut Emeritus Assembly, Adjunct Faculty, English, Central Connecticut State University -former.

Member-At-Large-Isaac Kamola–,, Associate Professor, Political Science, Trinity College

Executive Director Flo Hatcher–, Adjunct Faculty, Fine Art, Southern Connecticut State University -former.

A brief 8/25/22 news update from CT AAUP Advocacy Chapters follows:

The Wesleyan University-AAUP Chapter plans a big chapter launch on September 1. The chapter recently created enhanced communication capabilities to strengthen member outreach. The Chapter also plans a November organizational event with guest presenters. 

The Connecticut College-AAUP Chapter is engaged in a “Know Your Rights” campaign. It focuses on reviewing institutional and Redbook policies about a particular topic and discussing member rights and obligations. The effort looks to empower the members before faced with a crisis.  

Trinity College-AAUP Chapter officer was a 2022 Summer Institute workshop presenter and will take part in the Wesleyan November event.  

University of Hartford-AAUP Chapter plans a Friday, October 14 organizing ZOOM event featuring guests: national AAUP DOS East Coast Organizer David Kociemba and Organizer Jerome Thompson.  

information from past conference councils