Emeritus Assembly

EA-CT Newsletter

Emeritus Assembly, Connecticut State Conference

American Association of University Professors



Our first 2022-2023 Meeting:                                                      

Friday, September 30, 2022, 11:30 AM-1:00 PM

Guided tour of Lower Connecticut River on RiverQuest out of Essex,CT. Plan to arrive at least 10-15 minutes early to allow time for boarding the vessel.

This ship, now owned and operated by the Connecticut River Museum in Essex, is the same one we took several years ago in the fall, out of Haddam. Because the Emeritus Assembly will be partially subsidizing the event, the cost of the guided tour for EA_CT members and their guests will be $20 per person ($3 less for Museum members).

Lunch: Griswold Inn, Essex, close by the Main St. dock where we will land. Sit at tables, order from the menu (available online).

 Please mail the Registration information (page 3) and a check for $20 per person for the guided river tour, payable to AAUP Emeritus Assembly, to our Treasurer Gerald Leibowitz (28 Willowbrook Rd., Storrs 06268).          DEADLINE:  MONDAY, SEPT. 19.


          From CT Route 9 South, take exit 3. (Expand Google Maps until you can see the green exit numbers.) Shortly after exiting, go LEFT onto CT 154, a short distance under the highway; then take another LEFT onto West Ave.

           Follow West Av. to Main St., which will be on the right. [Ignore “South” or “North” Main Streets.] Go RIGHT onto Main St., past the Griswold Inn, to the Museum. (PARKING: Website says plenty of parking to left of main Museum, or parallel–park on street.]

           From CT Route 9 North, take exit 3.  Go LEFT onto CT Route 154, Middlesex Tpke., then RIGHT onto West Avenue.

         Follow West Av. to Main St. on right. [Ignore “South” or “North” Main Sts.] GO Right onto Main plenty of parking to left of main Museum, or parallel–park on street.


Due Monday, September 19, 2022

Make checks for the tour fee of $20.00 per person ($17 if you’re a Connecticut River Museum member) payable to AAUP EMERITUS ASSEMBLY, and mail them with the form to Jerry Leibowitz, Treasurer, 28 Willowbrook Road, Storrs, CT 06268, or bring them to the tour on the 30th.

Please let Art Wright know by email at artwwright@gmail.com   the tally below:

(a) that you will be joining the River Quest tour on Friday, Sept. 30, and (b) whether you will be joining us for lunch.

 (I/we) will be joining the River Quest tour beginning at 11:30 a.m. on Friday, September 30,________________________[no. attending; names(s)].    

 (I/we) will be joining you for lunch________ (number attending) at the Griswold Inn, Main St., Essex, about 1:15 pm on Friday, September 30.

Officers of the Emeritus Assembly (2022-2023)

President:  Arthur Wright (2016-2018)   147 Hillyndale Road, Storrs, CT 06268          artwwright@gmail.com   860-429-9958   or   860-420-9266 (c)

Vice President:  Winthrop Smith (2016-2018)    8 Sherwood St., Unit 3B, Storrs, CT 06268            winthrop.smith@uconn.edu  860-429-0529

Secretary: VACANT

Treasurer:   Gerald Leibowitz (2015-2017)   28 Willowbrook Road, Storrs, CT 06268   jerryzoe1@gmail.com  860-429-0791

State Conference Liaison:

Jane Hikel   HikelJ@ccsu.edu

 Website Contact:

May Giger     admin@eact.info   ea-ct@sbcglobal.net

Emeritus Assembly

AAUP-Connecticut Conference

147 Hillyndale Road

Storrs, CT  06268

Emeritus Assembly
Officers of the Emeritus Assembly (2020-2021)

Arthur Wright (2016-2021) artwwright@gmail.com 
147 Hillyndale Road
Storrs, CT 06268

Vice President:
Winthrop Smith (2016-2021) winthrop.smith@uconn.edu

Secretary: OPEN

Gerald Leibowitz (2015-2021) jerryzoe1@gmail.com
28 Willowbrook Road
Storrs, CT 06268

State Conference Liaison:
Morton Tenzer m.tenzer@sbcglobal.net

Webite Contact:
May Giger admin@eact.info

Please visit the Emeritus Assembly CSC-AAUP website at http://eact.info or alternatively, at http://blog.eact.info/